GameGrin Gaming Forums
Home LANs Forums Reviews Previews

Go Back   GameGrin Gaming Forums > General Community Forums > Hardware, Software, Gadgets, Phones Discussion > Tech Chat > Software Discussion

Software Discussion Discuss Software and ask for unsupported help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-08-2008, 11:20 AM   #1
JackMT

Headcrab
 
JackMT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 185
JackMT will become famous soon enoughJackMT will become famous soon enoughJackMT will become famous soon enoughJackMT will become famous soon enoughJackMT will become famous soon enoughJackMT will become famous soon enoughJackMT will become famous soon enoughJackMT will become famous soon enoughJackMT will become famous soon enough
Vista Ultimate - 32bit or 64bit?

Right so I'm going to Novatech today to buy Vista ultimate (i broke XP and need to reformat but lost XP discs), but I really am not sure about whether I should get 32bit or 64 because people say driver compatibility is poo for 64bit and I don't know which is compatible with my system either.

Specs:

Intel E6750
2GB OCZ platinum DDR2 (will be 4 GB later on in the year)
Asus P5KC mobo
8800GT EVGA
120GB 7200 rpm Harddrive, probably western digital can't really remember
X-fi extreme music
__________________
JackMT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 11:28 AM   #2
Platinum
raggggggggge
 
Platinum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: USS Enterprise E
Posts: 31,754
Platinum has a reputation beyond reputePlatinum has a reputation beyond reputePlatinum has a reputation beyond reputePlatinum has a reputation beyond reputePlatinum has a reputation beyond reputePlatinum has a reputation beyond reputePlatinum has a reputation beyond reputePlatinum has a reputation beyond reputePlatinum has a reputation beyond reputePlatinum has a reputation beyond reputePlatinum has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Vista Ultimate - 32bit or 64bit?

If you plan to upgrade to 4gb go with the x64 edition, I use it and havent had any compatability issues yet.
__________________


"Left cex. Am up on high street
Going to cash gen opposite primark. Then into game in the bridges." - djd4ws0n 2017
Platinum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 11:33 AM   #3
JackMT

Headcrab
 
JackMT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 185
JackMT will become famous soon enoughJackMT will become famous soon enoughJackMT will become famous soon enoughJackMT will become famous soon enoughJackMT will become famous soon enoughJackMT will become famous soon enoughJackMT will become famous soon enoughJackMT will become famous soon enoughJackMT will become famous soon enough
Re: Vista Ultimate - 32bit or 64bit?

hmmm well it might be a while before I get the extra 2gb because I have other commitments, so I think i will go for the 32bit. Thanks for the info Plat
__________________
JackMT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 11:34 AM   #4
Betty_Swallocks
Super Moderator
 
Betty_Swallocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Gosport
Posts: 9,646
Betty_Swallocks has a reputation beyond reputeBetty_Swallocks has a reputation beyond reputeBetty_Swallocks has a reputation beyond reputeBetty_Swallocks has a reputation beyond reputeBetty_Swallocks has a reputation beyond reputeBetty_Swallocks has a reputation beyond reputeBetty_Swallocks has a reputation beyond reputeBetty_Swallocks has a reputation beyond reputeBetty_Swallocks has a reputation beyond reputeBetty_Swallocks has a reputation beyond reputeBetty_Swallocks has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Vista Ultimate - 32bit or 64bit?

Although the xFi Vista drivers are still said to be fairly pooh.
__________________
The opinions expressed in this post are purely my own and are nothing to do with "GameGrin/GameOn Networking Ltd" unless otherwise stated.
Betty_Swallocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 11:34 AM   #5
mole

Human Grunt
 
mole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Widnes
Posts: 2,672
mole has a spectacular aura aboutmole has a spectacular aura aboutmole has a spectacular aura aboutmole has a spectacular aura aboutmole has a spectacular aura aboutmole has a spectacular aura aboutmole has a spectacular aura aboutmole has a spectacular aura aboutmole has a spectacular aura aboutmole has a spectacular aura aboutmole has a spectacular aura about
Re: Vista Ultimate - 32bit or 64bit?

You need 64Bit for 4GB RAM. I used to run 64bit XP and really didn't get that many issues on it.

There are lots of people running 64bit Vista on here, as far as I know, so they should have experiences to tell you.

If you get retail Ultimate, then you get the media and licence for 32bit and 64bit, though I'm sure it's probably quite expensive


Edit: pfft lots of people posted before I got my post in :P
mole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 11:34 AM   #6
Platinum
raggggggggge
 
Platinum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: USS Enterprise E
Posts: 31,754
Platinum has a reputation beyond reputePlatinum has a reputation beyond reputePlatinum has a reputation beyond reputePlatinum has a reputation beyond reputePlatinum has a reputation beyond reputePlatinum has a reputation beyond reputePlatinum has a reputation beyond reputePlatinum has a reputation beyond reputePlatinum has a reputation beyond reputePlatinum has a reputation beyond reputePlatinum has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Vista Ultimate - 32bit or 64bit?

Fine for me but I only have 2 speakers
__________________


"Left cex. Am up on high street
Going to cash gen opposite primark. Then into game in the bridges." - djd4ws0n 2017
Platinum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 11:41 AM   #7
Milky

Antlion
 
Milky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Warrington
Posts: 5,270
Milky has much to be proud ofMilky has much to be proud ofMilky has much to be proud ofMilky has much to be proud ofMilky has much to be proud ofMilky has much to be proud ofMilky has much to be proud ofMilky has much to be proud ofMilky has much to be proud ofMilky has much to be proud ofMilky has much to be proud of
Re: Vista Ultimate - 32bit or 64bit?

I've had no issues with Vista x64
__________________
Packing large meat since 1984!!!!

WE GOT TEH 1!!!!!!!! VAAAUUUNNNTTTT!!!!!!
Milky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 11:43 AM   #8
Roger_Mellie
Banned
 
Roger_Mellie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4,900
Roger_Mellie has a reputation beyond reputeRoger_Mellie has a reputation beyond reputeRoger_Mellie has a reputation beyond reputeRoger_Mellie has a reputation beyond reputeRoger_Mellie has a reputation beyond reputeRoger_Mellie has a reputation beyond reputeRoger_Mellie has a reputation beyond reputeRoger_Mellie has a reputation beyond reputeRoger_Mellie has a reputation beyond reputeRoger_Mellie has a reputation beyond reputeRoger_Mellie has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Vista Ultimate - 32bit or 64bit?

I'm on 64-bit. Some issues with older games but in general it's fine (already paid for them on Steam ). I'd not go for Ultimate, I'd go for the one below (Home Premium?) Does all the things you'd need tbh. I also have an X-Fi soundcard and it's as good as gold.
Roger_Mellie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 12:06 PM   #9
mole

Human Grunt
 
mole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Widnes
Posts: 2,672
mole has a spectacular aura aboutmole has a spectacular aura aboutmole has a spectacular aura aboutmole has a spectacular aura aboutmole has a spectacular aura aboutmole has a spectacular aura aboutmole has a spectacular aura aboutmole has a spectacular aura aboutmole has a spectacular aura aboutmole has a spectacular aura aboutmole has a spectacular aura about
Re: Vista Ultimate - 32bit or 64bit?

I have ultimate, but only really cause I've got two free copies off Microsoft
mole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2008, 07:20 AM   #10
jab_au

Snark
 
jab_au's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 41
jab_au will become famous soon enoughjab_au will become famous soon enoughjab_au will become famous soon enoughjab_au will become famous soon enoughjab_au will become famous soon enoughjab_au will become famous soon enoughjab_au will become famous soon enoughjab_au will become famous soon enoughjab_au will become famous soon enoughjab_au will become famous soon enough
Re: Vista Ultimate - 32bit or 64bit?

I currently run Win XP x64, if you going to run 4Gb ram yes get the 64bit version of Windows is a good idea.

Some points of advice though:
  1. Check for drivers for you hardware
  2. Don't' cry in various forums about hardware X not working when you didn't follow 1
  3. Understand that Windows 16bit applications don't work in x64 (some game installers)
  4. If you want to run old DOS games use DOSBox
jab_au is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:10 AM.


More on gaming

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2016 GameOn Networking Ltd, T/A GameGrin