GameGrin Gaming Forums
Home LANs Forums Reviews Previews

Go Back   GameGrin Gaming Forums > General Community Forums > Hardware, Software, Gadgets, Phones Discussion > Tech Chat > Software Discussion

Software Discussion Discuss Software and ask for unsupported help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 29-01-2009, 08:33 PM   #1
TMaC

Fast Headcrab
 
TMaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: St Albans
Posts: 424
TMaC will become famous soon enoughTMaC will become famous soon enoughTMaC will become famous soon enoughTMaC will become famous soon enoughTMaC will become famous soon enoughTMaC will become famous soon enoughTMaC will become famous soon enoughTMaC will become famous soon enoughTMaC will become famous soon enoughTMaC will become famous soon enoughTMaC will become famous soon enough
Exclamation problems with add new hardware wizard

i'm looking at a friends pc and they are having a really strange problem when plugging in any new hardware.
add remove hardware wizard detects the new hardware and pops up
but then it continually keeps closing and popping up so have to end up trying to click cancel until eventually manage to get the cancel button the moment it pops up
and then installing the drivers manually
or opening add remove hardware wizard manually and then it doesnt continually pop up.

this is happening every time my friend turns up his printer which can be a pain

any ideas welcome :/
TMaC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2009, 09:50 PM   #2
Sin_Chase

Vortigaunt
 
Sin_Chase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,896
Sin_Chase is just really niceSin_Chase is just really niceSin_Chase is just really niceSin_Chase is just really niceSin_Chase is just really niceSin_Chase is just really niceSin_Chase is just really niceSin_Chase is just really niceSin_Chase is just really niceSin_Chase is just really niceSin_Chase is just really nice
Re: problems with add new hardware wizard

format c:
__________________
Sin_Chase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2009, 09:45 AM   #3
TMaC

Fast Headcrab
 
TMaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: St Albans
Posts: 424
TMaC will become famous soon enoughTMaC will become famous soon enoughTMaC will become famous soon enoughTMaC will become famous soon enoughTMaC will become famous soon enoughTMaC will become famous soon enoughTMaC will become famous soon enoughTMaC will become famous soon enoughTMaC will become famous soon enoughTMaC will become famous soon enoughTMaC will become famous soon enough
Re: problems with add new hardware wizard

its happening on both his pc and his laptop

think it may be related to Mcafee system protect (now disabled on both but problem is still happening)
TMaC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2009, 11:57 PM   #4
Rasher

Tentacle
Administrator
 
Rasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Giraffetastic
Posts: 30,272
Blog Entries: 27
Rasher has a reputation beyond reputeRasher has a reputation beyond reputeRasher has a reputation beyond reputeRasher has a reputation beyond reputeRasher has a reputation beyond reputeRasher has a reputation beyond reputeRasher has a reputation beyond reputeRasher has a reputation beyond reputeRasher has a reputation beyond reputeRasher has a reputation beyond reputeRasher has a reputation beyond repute
Re: problems with add new hardware wizard

what OS is he using on both system?

i couldn't confirm anything with Mcafee as i haven't used it in years
but if its happening on both PCs now, looks like you got a good place to start
__________________
Join the staff and users in our chat room

Follow us on Facebook / Twitter
Follow me on Twitter
Rasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2009, 12:11 AM   #5
olobley

Antlion
 
olobley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Signal Hill (CA - 90755)
Posts: 5,845
olobley has a reputation beyond reputeolobley has a reputation beyond reputeolobley has a reputation beyond reputeolobley has a reputation beyond reputeolobley has a reputation beyond reputeolobley has a reputation beyond reputeolobley has a reputation beyond reputeolobley has a reputation beyond reputeolobley has a reputation beyond reputeolobley has a reputation beyond reputeolobley has a reputation beyond repute
Re: problems with add new hardware wizard

USB hardware?
Check the power saving mode of the controller...had a similar issue with some of our fingerprint readers at work
olobley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2009, 08:09 AM   #6
TMaC

Fast Headcrab
 
TMaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: St Albans
Posts: 424
TMaC will become famous soon enoughTMaC will become famous soon enoughTMaC will become famous soon enoughTMaC will become famous soon enoughTMaC will become famous soon enoughTMaC will become famous soon enoughTMaC will become famous soon enoughTMaC will become famous soon enoughTMaC will become famous soon enoughTMaC will become famous soon enoughTMaC will become famous soon enough
Re: problems with add new hardware wizard

both xp,
thanks olobley will check that out
TMaC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
add, Hardware, problems, wizard

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:29 PM.


More on gaming

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© 2016 GameOn Networking Ltd, T/A GameGrin